The newly registered British citizens pose outside Government House after a ceremony on Oct. 8. (Photo: GIS)

Thirty-nine people were registered as British citizens last week after having been previously naturalised as British overseas territory citizens.

They received certificates of naturalisation during an Oct. 8 ceremony at Government House, where they recited the Oath of Allegiance to the Queen and the Pledge of Loyalty to the United Kingdom, according to Government Information Services.

Governor Gus Jaspert, who presided over the ceremony, congratulated the new citizens and listed benefits that they will receive, including easier access to jobs and studies here and in the UK, as well as entry to the United States under the visa waiver programme.

“The new freedom you would now enjoy also comes with new responsibilities — responsibilities to think about the community of which you have now joined, to uphold what we call our shared British values: courtesy, respect and concern for others less fortunate than ourselves in society,” Mr. Jaspert added.

Registrar General Stephanie Benn also congratulated the recipients, and encouraged them to take good care of their certificates.

“Today is a significant moment for all, as we are gathered here to recognise and welcome all 39 British territory citizens through naturalisation as British citizens,” she said. “This ceremony confirms your registration as a British citizen.”

British citizenship was extended to all British OT citizens as a result of the British Overseas Territories Act of 2002. People naturalised as BOT citizens following the enactment of the act on May 21, 2002, do not automatically become British citizens, but they are eligible to register as such.

The extension of British citizenship to BOT citizens was part of the UK government’s 1999 White Paper, titled “Partnership for Progress and Prosperity,” which outlined the UK’s policy in respect of the OTs.

Newly Registered British Citizens:

Nakisha Abel
Jermain Lawrence Abrams
Kedisha Tamara Alphonso
Gavin Jamall August
Hendrick Baptiste
Carlene Petrinella Carty
Tameika Marshall Campbell
Sharon Ann Elizabeth Alexander Chambers Marcia Patricia Charles-Green
Mustafa Claxton
Mark Doig
Molene Orlene Emanuel
Ted Francis
Christine Lucia Fraser
Verna Natasha Gabriel-Frett
Maryann Stacyian Grant
Stanton Cleon Grazette
Bernadette Yvette Huggins
Thomas Daniel James
Dawn Theona Alexander-Joseph
Sebastien Joseph
Vanessa Michelle King
Thomas Leblanc
Patricia Boneta Lettsome
Kilver Edgardo Nisbett Paul
Rhondolyn Vereen Norma Huggins Augustina Thelma Paul
Cornell Tyler Penn Jr.
Sonia Valrie Penn
Frankie Chinatambi Rathanum
Sherril Indera Rathanum
Sonia Marion Richards
Michelle Anessa Rymer
Eileen Almaida Samuel
Kensley Ralph Samuel
Andrea Lorraine Stephenson-Henry
Gracia Glencia Strough-Ashton
Khalifa Soraya Turnbull
Trevor Almeida Wheatley