Viewers of the live 2023 general elections results look on as the district results are read by the Supervisor of Elections at the Multipurpose Sports Complex on Monday. (Photo: DANA KAMPA)

The Virgin Islands Party won six of 13 seats in the House of Assembly on Polling Day, falling one shy of the majority needed to form a government, election officials announced at about 11 p.m. Monday.

The rest of the seats went to three National Democratic Party representatives, three Progressive VI Movement representatives, and one Progressives United representative.

Because no party won a majority, the parties are now likely to go behind closed doors for discussions about forming a coalition government.

The winners were as follows:

District One: Karl Dawson (VIP)
District Two: Melvin “Mitch” Turnbull (PVIM)
District Three: Julian Fraser (PU)
District Four: Luce Hodge-Smith (VIP)
District Five: Kye Rymer (VIP)
District Six: Myron Walwyn (NDP)
District Seven: Dr. Natalio “Sowande” Wheatley (VIP)
District Eight: Marlon Penn (NDP)
District Nine: Vincent Wheatley (VIP)
At large candidates: Sharie DeCastro (VIP), Stacy “Buddha” Mather (PVIM), Ronnie Skelton (PVIM), Lorna Smith (NDP)