In consultation with Cabinet, Premier Andrew Fahie has decided to establish an ad hoc Economic Advisory Council to the Premier.

“At this stage in the territory’s constitutional and economic development, it is in the best interest of the government and the people that the EAC, a non-constitutional and independent body, be established to provide economic advice specifically to the premier,” Mr. Fahie said.

The body’s primary role is to provide an “objective viewpoint on economic policy matters” referred to it by the premier, according to Government Information Services.

To that end, the EAC — which will be chaired by pastor John Cline, founder and CEO of Infinite Solutions — is expected to advise on economic issues including diversification and development of industries; regional and local business opportunities; inflation and cost of living; finance; and foreign investment, among other areas, GIS stated.

Additionally, it will be charged with drafting periodic reports about economic developments that need to be brought to the premier’s attention.

To prepare for this task, members will monitor national and international economic developments and trends and propose “appropriate policy responses,” according to GIS.

The EAC may also publish annual reports on the territory’s economic standing and outlook, as well as “general reviews” on the VI economy, government noted.

The council’s remit also includes creating sub-committees to consider specific topics such as national strategic planning, social restructuring, digital transformation, and the environment.

Each sub-committee “shall include representation from the sister islands in the various industries as such representation is determined and approved from time to time,” GIS stated.

The council includes 10 regular members and one youth representative, and its secretariat is made up of Claude Skelton-Cline and David Norris.

Below are the inaugural members of the Economic Advisory Council to the Premier.


Chairman John Cline, founder and CEO at Infinite Solutions
Deputy Chairwoman Patricia Romney, director of operations at ROMASCO Group
Peter Tarn, chairman at Harneys
Shan Mohammed, managing director at Nagico Insurances BVI
Sjoerd Koster, general manager at VP Bank
Lorna Christopher, manager at Maria’s by the Sea
Andrew Ball, chairman of the BVI Marine Association
Lawrence Wheatley, owner and manager of the Anegada Reef Hotel
Meade Malone, managing director of MWM Global Holdings
St. Clair Flemming, owner and CEO of P3 Paper Plastic Products

Youth representative
Tatiana Fahie

Claude Skelton-Cline
David Norris