Football team officials, referees and match commissioner associated with the Caribbean Football Union Women’s under-20 Tournament pose for a photo. (Left to right) Rhea Jarvis, (Antigua & Barbuda); Dr. Frank Kofi Akowuah, (Anguilla); Colin Johnson, (Anguilla); Lester Morris, (St. Kitts & Nevis); Rolston Williams, (Antigua & Barbuda); Trevor Huggins, (St. Vincent & The Grenadines-Match Commissioner); Katie Rowson, (BVI); Andy Bickerton, (BVI); Christina Unilie, (Florida); Jesus LeBron,( Puerto Rico); Wendy Fisher, (Cayman Islands); Jeana James, (BVI) Shreen Flax, (BVI). (Photo: DEAN GREEAWAY)

The BVI Football Association is hosting the Caribbean Football Union Women’s under-20 Group 2 Tournament this week at the A.O. Shirley Recreation Grounds.

The three-day tournament will feature teams from Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the Virgin Islands and St. Kitts and Nevis.


Games will be played Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at 4 p.m. and 6 p.m.


Last Thursday in preparation for the tournament, the VI played a friendly match against the United States VI, but lost 3-1.


“What I’ve seen is an absolutely fantastic attitude to learning and embracing new aspects of soccer in terms of embracing organisation, in terms of tactics and the attitude to improve their technique,” said VI Coach Katie Rowson, who has been working with the team for more than two weeks. “I’m really, really pleased with the squad I’ve got. Their attitude and their effort should put us in good stead for the competition.”


The VI team consist of Britaney Peters, Shevonne Vanterpool, Keresha Martin, Laresha Martin, Joi-Ann Thomas, Tai-Racquel Modeste, Jackisha Rigbert, La Vern Fahie, Victoria Medly, Tahirah Bascombe, Keithrec Smith, Kezia Gumbs, Kelaine Smith, Lil-Makeda Fahie, Danielle Ward, Sapphire Flax, Kimone Mills and Nekesha Chinnery.





Antigua and Barbuda vs. St. Kitts and Nevis at 4 p.m.

VI vs. Anguilla at 6 p.m.



St. Kitts and Nevis vs. Anguilla at 4 p.m.

Antigua and Barbuda vs. VI at 6 p.m.


July 20:

Anguilla vs. Antigua and Barbuda at  4 p.m.

VI vs. St. Kitts and Nevis at 6 p.m.