The Virgin Islands government will soon exempt the eight other member states of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States and the region’s court from paying tax and customs duties, officials said.

The agreement, which will require the House of Assembly to pass an amendment to the Customs Management and Duties Act, will also exempt the VI from OECS members’ duties and taxes, according to Government Information Services.

“Government recognises the importance of securing these relationships in order to speak with one voice and be represented on a global scale,” Rosalie Adams, the permanent secretary in the Premier’s Office, said in a GIS press release.

There are seven full OECS members: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

See the Sept. 20, 2012 edition for full coverage.