The Virgin Islands Party announced seven of its nine district candidates this week, adding that it will soon announce its nominees for the four territorial seats and two remaining district seats.


The fledgling People’s Empowerment Party also announced that telecommunications executive and businessman Elford Parsons will run as the party’s District Two candidate. PEP Chairman Alvin Christopher, who is currently an opposition member representing District Two, will run as an at-large candidate.

For the VIP, incumbents Julian Fraser and Andrew Fahie will seek re-election for Districts Three and One, respectively.

Contesting District Five will be Zoe Walcott-McMillan, who unsuccessfully ran as an at-large candidate in 2011.

Former District Five representative Elvis “Juggy” Harrigan will seek to take the District Six seat this time around.

Former Labour Commissioner Oleanvine Maynard will run for the first time as the VIP’s District Seven nominee, and McLloyd Walters will seek the District Eight chair.

Elton “All-Out” Sprauve was chosen over hopefuls Stephanie Faulkner-Williams, Victor O’Neal and Devon Osborne to replace retiring Opposition Leader Ralph O’Neal as the District Nine nominee.

Candidates have yet to be chosen for districts Two and Four.

Premier Dr. Orlando Smith announced today that he will ask Governor John Duncan to dissolve the House of Assembly tomorrow, which means that elections will be held within the two months of the announcement.